Learn French through French song

The French variety is known worldwide: Michel Delpech, Barbara, Jacques Brel ... Discover our tips for learning French in music.

Learn and discover French music with the best tools

For a foreigner starting out in French as a foreign language, learning about the French variety can be difficult when you don't know many French artists. Thanks to the Internet, discovering French-speaking artists has never been easier.
In order to get to know this kind of music, YouTube offers a selection of free albums and songs through their automated playlists. With their recommendation system, you will discover several artists at the same time. You will also find videos with song lyrics.

With the application Spotify, you will find classics and lesser-known singers. To register, it's simple: you just have to create a user account and you will have access to a lot of French-speaking titles! It is a good tool to discover a new musical group or a new song that you will like. Spotify is a great app for listening to podcasts and learning vocabulary. You can save it easily, listen to it again but also download it if you want to take its paid version.

Besides useful websites and apps, you can try listening to French radio on the Internet. Nostalgia et Yes FM are good radios for finding a cult piece.

Recommendations from French and French artists

Whether you think it or not, the French language is not content with “La Môme” (Édith Piaf) or previously mentioned artists. The musical style varies according to the singer's generation. Georges Brassens and Charles Trenet were symbols of France during the 40s to 60s, but today rap is becoming popular with Soprano or Bigflo and Oli.

So what are the best songs to learn French? In truth, it depends on your own tastes. Do you prefer more instrumental music? You will no doubt like Renaud's “Mistral Gagnant”, with his moving piano. If you have more rock tastes, you will love Johnny Hallyday's guitar with “Oh Marie” or “Allumer le feu”. And for those who have more pop tastes? The list is long and varied: Stromae with “Papaoutai”, Zazie and “Speed”, Angèle and “Everything forgotten”, Amir and “I searched”…

France is also a country where we do a lot of electronic music. Daft Punk, Justice, David Guetta… They are all French! But if there is a group where you can easily understand the lyrics, it would be Poom. These are two artists who met in an art school. They share the same tastes for the quirky, the unusual.

So why them, and not another group? Their texts are accessible at any level, easy to memorize and you have many songs to choose from. If I were to recommend one, I advise you to listen to both versions of “My Licorne and Me”. It is a song about travel, romance, and surpassing oneself… With a unicorn as guide. You also have “You and me”, which evokes the theme of the fragility of couples. A very French theme, when you think about it!

Playfully improve your oral skills

Knowing a lot of French songs is good, but the best is tolearn the songs… With singing. Singing is the most practical way to practice intonation (and it's a good memory exercise!). Loving to sing is one thing, but if you want to succeed in pronouncing our ambiguous letters, it is the most effective method for perfecting your accent. If you don't like to sing, then why not dance? This will not allow you to improve your oral, but at least you will have enjoyed the French songs.

Apprendre le français par la chanson française

La variété française est connue mondialement : Michel Delpech, Barbara, Jacques Brel… Découvrez nos conseils pour apprendre le français en musique.

Apprendre et découvrir la musique française avec les meilleurs outils

Pour un étranger débutant en FLE, s’informer sur la variété française peut être difficile quand on ne connaît pas beaucoup d’artistes français. Grâce à Internet, la découverte d’artistes francophones n’a jamais été aussi facile.
Afin de se familiariser à ce genre de musique, YouTube propose une sélection d’albums et de morceaux gratuit à travers leurs playlists automatisées. Avec leur système de recommandation, vous découvrirez plusieurs artistes à la fois. Vous trouverez également des vidéos avec des paroles de chansons.

Avec l’application Spotify, vous trouverez des classiques et des chanteurs moins connus. Pour s’inscrire, c’est simple : il faut juste créer un compte utilisateur et vous aurez accès à énormément de titres francophones ! C’est un bon outil pour découvrir un nouveau groupe musical ou une nouvelle chanson qui va vous plaire. Spotify est une excellente application pour écouter des podcasts et acquérir du vocabulaire. Vous pouvez l’enregistrer facilement, le réécouter mais aussi le télécharger si vous souhaitez prendre sa version payante.

En dehors des sites Web et des applications bien utiles, vous pouvez essayer d’écouter la radio française sur Internet. Nostalgie et Oui FM sont de bonnes radios pour dénicher un morceau culte.

Recommandations d’artistes françaises et français

Que vous le pensiez ou non, la langue française ne se contente pas que de “La Môme” (Édith Piaf) ou des artistes précédemment cités. Le style musical varie selon la génération du chanteur. Georges Brassens et Charles Trenet sont symboles de la France durant les années 40 à 60 mais aujourd’hui, le rap devient populaire avec Soprano ou Bigflo et Oli.

Mais alors, quels sont les meilleures chansons pour apprendre le français ? En vérité, cela dépend de vos propres goûts. Vous préférez des musiques plus instrumentales ? Vous aimerez sans doute “Mistral Gagnant” de Renaud, avec son piano émouvant. Si vous avez des goûts plus rock, vous allez adorer la guitare de Johnny Hallyday avec “Oh Marie” ou “Allumer le feu”. Et pour ceux qui ont des goûts plus pop ? La liste est longue et variée : Stromae avec “Papaoutai”, Zazie et “Speed”, Angèle et “Tout oublier”, Amir et “J’ai cherché”…

La France est également un pays où on fait beaucoup de musique électronique. Daft Punk, Justice, David Guetta… Ils sont tous français ! Mais s’il existe un groupe où on peut comprendre les paroles facilement, ce serait Poom. Ce sont deux artistes qui se sont rencontrés dans une école d’art. Ils partagent les mêmes goûts pour le décalé, l’inhabituel.

Alors pourquoi eux, et pas un autre groupe ? Leurs textes sont accessibles à n’importe quel niveau, facile à mémoriser et vous avez beaucoup de chansons à choisir. Si je devais en recommander un, je vous conseille d’écouter les deux versions de “My Licorne and Me”. C’est une chanson parlant de voyages, de romantisme, et de dépassement de soi… Avec comme guide une licorne. Vous avez également “Toi et moi”, qui évoque le thème de la fragilité des couples. Un thème très français, lorsqu’on y pense !

Améliorer son oral de façon ludique

Savoir beaucoup de chansons francophones c’est bien, mais le mieux est d’apprendre les chansons… Avec le chant. Chanter est le moyen le plus pratique pour pratiquer son intonation (et c’est un bon exercice de mémoire !). Aimer chanter est une chose mais si vous souhaitez réussir à prononcer nos lettres ambigues, c’est la méthode la plus efficace pour perfectionner son accent. Si vous n’aimez pas chanter, alors pourquoi pas danser ? Cela ne va pas vous permettre d’améliorer votre oral, mais au moins vous aurez apprécié les chansons françaises.