Should we pronounce them? Are they dumb? Discover everything about the pronunciation of final consonants in French in this article.

The phonetics of French, an exact science for the pronunciation of final consonants?

At the risk of upsetting the phoneticians, I would say that these are rather general principles in French than strict theoretical rules as regards the pronunciation of final consonants. Indeed, even the French can be led to make mistakes when they come across a new word. Some would say that this particularity is what makes the charm of the French language…

Let's discover this non-exhaustive guide together to overcome the difficulty that the French phonological system can pose! But note first of all that these elements of response are only valid in the case where the consonant is not already part of a combination of letters (for example in the case of nasal vowels).

The final consonant is (almost) always pronounced


The word ends with a -l. This is the case with many adjectives that end in -el or in -al. For example: personal, essential, general, main. This is also the case for some names, such as: honey, evil, salt.
Beware however of the words that end in -it as a tool and nice, the -l is not pronounced in these occurrences.

• If the word ends with a -m and it is not part of a combination to form a nasal vowel, it is probably a word that comes from Latin. In this case, the -m is pronounced of course. Here are some examples: forum, item, referendum, album.

• Words that end in -q are very rare. However, when they exist, the -q is pronounced, as in five and Iraq.

• Words that end in -g are generally words of foreign origin. We then tend to pronounce them as we would pronounce them in the original language. Usually they are pronounced then. For example: grog, iceberg and zigzag. Warning ! We do not pronounce the long adjective -g otherwise it would be a feminine whose spelling is long.

• As for the words which end in -k, they are always words of foreign origin and the -k is always pronounced. For example: anorak, steak, look.

The final consonant is sometimes pronounced


French has many words that end in -c which are not pronounced. For example: white, crook, stomach, pork, tobacco, trunk. However, one can also find words, generally short, where the -c is pronounced such as: bag, with, stuff, Turkish, park.

• Most of the time, for words ending in -f, this letter is pronounced. We can think in particular of all the adjectives that end -if: active, sporty, puny. But this is also the case for certain names: chef, egg, new. However, other words do not pronounce this letter: clef, nerf, and also the plural of words in -euf (while it is pronounced in the singular): eggs, oxen.

• The case of -r is quite special. It is pronounced for the infinitive of verbs in -IR such as: to sleep, to finish, to reflect but also for the words which end in -er which come from English: leader, dealer and finally for most of the short words like bitter worm or gold iron by on. On the other hand, it is not pronounced for words that end in -er, whether verbs or not: eat, baker, floor.

• The -t in final consonant is sometimes pronounced: tact, gross eight, west, east, sharp, August, sometimes not: respect, cat, pot, desert, night, small. On the other hand, it is not pronounced in words that end in -and: hat, chicken, sachet.

• In the same way, the -s is sometimes pronounced: bus, son, tennis, ace, biceps, march, bear, oasis, sense, corn and sometimes not: but, time, three, no case, without, sometimes.

The final consonant is (almost) never spoken


The -b is rare in the final consonant. When it comes to a foreign word, it can be pronounced: club, snob, Maghreb. But sometimes not: lead, doctor.

• Apart from the word south, the -d in the final consonant is generally not pronounced: second, duck, cold, large, round, deep.

• Once again, foreign words that end in -p will have a final sound consonant: cap, slip, stop, otherwise it will not be pronounced: a lot, sheet, wolf, too much.

• In final consonant, the -x is generally not pronounced: two, spouse, price, with the exception of Aix and index.

Likewise for the -z, which is found in particular in the words chez and riz, but also in all the endings of verbs in the second person plural: you eat, you sleep, you finish, you take. Note the word gas, which is an exception.

Faut-il les prononcer ? Sont-elles muettes ? Venez tout découvrir à propos de la prononciation des consonnes finales en français dans cet article.

La phonétique du français, une science exacte pour la prononciation des consonne finales ?

Au risque de fâcher les phonéticiens, je dirais qu’il s’agit en français plutôt de principes généraux plutôt que de règles théoriques strictes en ce qui concerne la prononciation des consonnes finales. En effet, même les Français peuvent être amenés à faire des erreurs lorsqu’ils rencontrent un mot nouveau. Certains diront que cette particularité est ce qui fait le charme de la langue française…

Découvrons ensemble ce guide non exhaustif pour surmonter la difficulté que peut poser le système phonologique français ! Mais notons tout d’abord que ces éléments de réponse ne sont valables dans le cas où la consonne ne fait pas déjà partie d’une combinaison de lettres (par exemple dans le cas des voyelles nasales).

 

La consonne finale se prononce (presque) toujours

Le mot se termine par un -l. C’est le cas de beaucoup d’adjectifs qui se terminent en -el ou en -al. Par exemple : personnel, essentiel, général, principal. C’est également le cas de quelques noms, tels que : miel, mal, sel.
Attention cependant aux mots qui se terminent en -il comme outil et gentil, le -l ne se prononce pas dans ces occurrences-ci.

• Si le mot se termine par un -m et qu’il ne fait pas partie d’une combinaison pour former une voyelle nasale, c’est probablement un mot qui vient du latin. Dans ce cas, le -m se prononce bien sûr. En voici quelques exemples : forum, item, referendum, album.

• Les mots qui se finissent en -q sont très rares. Or, lorsqu’ils existent, le -q se prononce, comme dans cinq et Iraq.

• Les mots qui se terminent en -g sont généralement des mots d’origine étrangères. On a tendance alors à les prononcer comme on les prononcerait dans la langue d’origine. Habituellement, on les prononce alors. Par exemple : grog, iceberg et zigzag. Attention ! On ne prononce pas le -g l’adjectif long sans quoi il s’agirait d’un féminin dont l’orthographe est alors longue.

• Quant aux mots qui se terminent en -k, il s’agit toujours de mots d’origine étrangère et le -k se prononce toujours. Par exemple : anorak, bifteck, look.

La consonne finale se prononce parfois

Le français comporte de nombreux mots qui se terminent par -c qui ne se prononcent pas. Par exemple : blanc, escroc, estomac, porc, tabac, tronc. Cependant, on peut également trouver des mots, généralement courts, où le -c se prononce tels que : sac, avec, truc, turc, parc.

• La plupart du temps, pour les mots qui se terminent en -f, cette lettre se prononce. On peut penser notamment à tous les adjectifs qui se finissent -if : actif, sportif, chétif. Mais c’est également le cas pour certains noms : chef, oeuf, neuf. Cependant, d’autres mots ne prononcent pas cette lettre : clef, nerf, et aussi le pluriel des mots en -oeuf (alors qu’elle se prononce au singulier) : oeufs, boeufs.

• Le cas du -r est assez spécial. Il se prononce pour l’infinitif des verbes en -IR tels que : dormir, finir, réfléchir mais également pour les mots qui se terminent en -er qui viennent de l’anglais : leader, dealer et enfin pour la plupart des mots courts comme amer, ver, or, fer, par, sur. Par contre, il ne se prononce pas pour les mots qui se terminent en -er, qu’il s’agisse de verbes ou non : manger, boulanger, plancher.

• Le -t en consonne finale se prononce parfois : tact, brut huit, ouest, est, net, août, parfois non : respect, chat, pot, désert, nuit, petit. Par contre, il ne se prononce pas dans les mots qui se terminent en -et : bonnet, poulet, sachet.

• De même, le -s se prononce parfois : bus, fils, tennis, as, biceps, mars, ours, oasis, sens, maïs et parfois non : mais, temps, trois, pas cas, sans, parfois.

La consonne finale ne se prononce (presque) jamais

Le -b est rare en consonne finale. Lorsqu’il s’agit d’un mot étranger, il peut se prononcer : club, snob, Maghreb. Mais parfois non : plomb, toubib.

• Mis à part dans le mot sud, le -d en consonne finale ne se prononce généralement pas : second, canard, froid, grand, rond, fond.

• Une fois de plus, les mots étrangers qui se terminent en -p auront une consonne finale sonore : cap, slip, stop, sinon, elle ne se prononce pas : beaucoup, drap, loup, trop.

• En consonne finale, le -x ne se prononce généralement pas : deux, époux, prix, à l’exception d’Aix et index.

De même pour le -z, que l’on retrouve notamment dans les mots chez et riz, mais également dans toutes les terminaisons des verbes à la deuxième personne du pluriel : vous mangez, vous dormez, vous finissez, vous prenez. Notons le mot gaz qui fait exception.