Do you know the words that appeared in the French dictionary this year? Discover a selection of these terms that have enriched the French language.

New words, a reflection of linguistic and cultural evolution

Each year, new words appear in the new edition of the French-language dictionaries Larousse and Robert. This linguistic phenomenon is inseparable from current society. Indeed, the evolution of our lexicon reflects the evolution of our world. The famous publishing houses Larousse and Robert have thus chosen to classify the words that appeared this year according to modern cultural themes:
- the new economy (example: coworking);
- multimedia (example: cyberbullying);
- the environment (example: dedialization);
- societal development (example: survivalism);
- health (example: bore-out);
- gastronomy (example: kefir).
So, if you want to discover French and / or French-speaking culture while enriching your lexical background, open the dictionary (even illustrated!) And read the definitions offered. Furthermore, reading the written press and listening to news on the radio will facilitate the acquisition of the meaning of these words thanks to the context. A good way to also develop your comprehension skills!

Words with diverse origins

Klouker, scroller, krav-maga, divulge… What do each of these words have in common? Yes, they are all from other languages ​​or dialects! Some have been francized (example: scroll-er), others have not (example: krav-maga). It's up to you to find which of these words is a loan from English… from Breton (regionalism)… from Hebrew… from Quebec! Globalization, human mobility and social networks contribute to an increasingly widespread use of borrowed vocabulary words.
However, if it is true that the loans are more and more diversified, the majority of French words are of Latin or Greek origin.

The formation of new words

Contrary to popular belief, all these new words are not necessarily neologisms. Thus, some of these terms newly entered in the dictionary have long existed in the French or French language. This is the case of the word “pen-pen”, much more poetic and above all more appropriate than the expression “literary negro” used until then.
Furthermore, when studying new words, it is interesting to take a closer look at the lexical creation processes used. Learned word, suitcase word, derived word, compound word, acronym, loan: the list goes on. Here are some examples of the 2020 vintage to illustrate:
- the name “zythology” is a word known as scholar because it is composed of the Greek elements “zythos” (beer) and “logos” (study).
- the name “adulescence” is a word known as a suitcase because it was born from the fusion of the words “adult” and “adolescence”.
- the name “eco-pasture” is a derivative word because it is formed from the base “pasture” to which the prefix “eco” has been added.
- the name “lend-plume”, mentioned above, is a so-called compound word since it connects with a hyphen the verb “to lend” to the name “plume”.
- the word OVM is the acronym for “Living Modified Organism”.
- the name “slasheur” is a loan from the English language, francized with the suffix “-eur”.
Now it's your turn! Can you identify the lexical creation processes of the following four words: Infox / Spoiler / Bioplastic / Locavorism? Certain words have the characteristic of combining lexical creation processes: this is the case of the word “darknet”, both borrowed and and suitcase word.
In short, thanks to all these new words, French-language dictionaries offer the possibility of discovering the challenges and trends of the current world while playing with words. Indeed, it can be very fun to manipulate the different lexical creation processes in order to imagine other neologisms. Psychovore, astrocole, delfophobic, neophone, cocomaniac ... Can you define these different neologisms thanks to the Greek and / or Latin elements that compose them? If you can answer this question, without a shadow of a doubt, you have become a true lexicophile!

Connaissez-vous les mots apparus dans le dictionnaire français cette année ? Découvrez une sélection de ces termes venus enrichir la langue française.

Les mots nouveaux, reflet d’une évolution linguistique et culturelle

Chaque année, de nouveaux mots font leur apparition dans la nouvelle édition des dictionnaires de langue française Larousse et Robert. Ce phénomène linguistique est indissociable de la société actuelle. En effet, l’évolution de notre lexique reflète l’évolution de notre monde. Les célèbres maisons d’édition Larousse et Robert ont ainsi choisi de classer les mots apparus cette année selon des thèmes culturels modernes :
– la nouvelle économie (exemple : coworking);
– le multimédia (exemple : cyberharcèlement);
– l’environnement (exemple : dédiélisation);
– le développement sociétal (exemple: survivalisme);
– la santé (exemple : bore-out);
– la gastronomie ( exemple : kéfir).
Ainsi, si vous souhaitez découvrir la culture française et/ou francophone tout en enrichissant votre bagage lexical, ouvrez le dictionnaire (même illustré !) et lisez les définitions proposées. Par ailleurs, la lecture de la presse écrite et l’écoute des actualités à la radio pourront faciliter l’acquisition du sens de ces mots grâce au contexte. Un bon moyen pour développer également vos compétences en compréhension !

Des mots aux origines diverses

Klouker, scroller, krav-maga, divulgâcher… Quel est le point commun à chacun de ces mots ? Eh oui, ils sont tous issus d’autres langues ou dialectes ! Certains ont été francisés (exemple : scroll-er), d’autres non (exemple : krav-maga). A vous de retrouver lequel de ces mots est un emprunt à l’anglais… au breton (régionalisme)… à l’hébreu… au québécois ! La mondialisation, la mobilité humaine et les réseaux sociaux participent à une utilisation de plus en plus répandue de mots de vocabulaire empruntés.
Toutefois, s’il est vrai que les emprunts sont de plus en plus diversifiés, la majorité des mots français sont d’origine latine ou grecque.

La formation des mots nouveaux

Contrairement aux idées reçues, tous ces mots nouveaux ne sont pas nécessairement des néologismes. Ainsi, certains de ces termes nouvellement entrés dans le dictionnaire existent pourtant depuis longtemps dans la langue française ou francophone. C’est le cas du mot “prête-plume”, beaucoup plus poétique et surtout plus approprié que l’expression “nègre littéraire” utilisée jusqu’alors.
Par ailleurs, lorsque l’on étudie les mots nouveaux, il est intéressant de regarder de plus près les procédés de création lexicale utilisés. Mot savant, mot valise, mot dérivé, mot composé, sigle, emprunt : la liste est longue. Voici quelques exemples du cru 2020 pour illustrer :
– le nom “zythologie” est un mot dit savant parce qu’il est composé des éléments grecs “zythos” (bière) et “logos” (étude).
– le nom “adulescence” est un mot dit valise parce qu’il est né de la fusion des mots “adulte” et “adolescence”.
– le nom “écopâturage” est un mot dit dérivé parce qu’il est formé de la base “pâturage” à laquelle le préfixe “éco-” a été ajouté.
– le nom “prête-plume”, évoqué précédemment, est un mot dit composé puisqu’il relie à l’aide d’un trait d’union le verbe “prêter” au nom “plume”.
– le mot OVM est le sigle pour “Organisme Vivant Modifié”.
– le nom “slasheur” est un emprunt à la langue anglaise, francisé à l’aide du suffixe “-eur”.
A présent, à vous de jouer ! Saurez-vous identifier les procédés de création lexicale des quatre mots suivants : Infox / Spoiler / Bioplastique / Locavorisme ? Certains mots présentent la caractéristique de cumuler les procédés de création lexicale : c’est le cas du mot “darknet”, à la fois emprunt et et mot-valise.
Bref, grâce à tous ces mots nouveaux, les dictionnaires de langue française offrent la possibilité de découvrir les enjeux et les tendances du monde actuel tout en jouant avec les mots. En effet, il peut être très amusant de manipuler les différents procédés de création lexicale afin d’imaginer d’autres néologismes. Psychovore, astrocole, delfophobe, néophone, cacomane… Saurez-vous définir ces différents néologismes grâce aux éléments grecs et/ou latins qui les composent ? Si vous parvenez à répondre à cette question, sans l’ombre d’un doute, vous êtes devenu(e) un(e) véritable lexicophile !