Hi Han 470x321 - Nasal vowels in French

Speaking French necessarily implies practicing pronunciation. What could be more frustrating than trying to communicate but that despite all your efforts and your great lexical and grammatical knowledge, you do not manage to be understood! Come and discover in our article the specificities of the nasal vowels of French, phonemes characteristic of the phonetics of our beautiful language so that you can indulge in casual conversations with natives without difficulty!

The particularity of French nasal vowels.

Little known to learners, these famous phonemes do not always find favor with their eyes. And yet! I always tell this anecdote which proves the impact and the importance which has the correct realization of these sounds: a British friend announced to me one fine day that he had cancer. Faced with my shock and sadness, he assures me that I can join him if I wish, but that he had not offered it to me because he did not think I was interested in jazz. Aaah! A concert.

Nasal vowels: a definition by contrastive discrimination

Nasal vowels: quésaco? There are four of them in French. However, one of them is only pronounced in the south of France and mastering the three most common is enough to be able to produce statements understandable by all French speakers.

• Noted / ã / in the international phonetic alphabet (api), this sound is pronounced by opening your mouth wide vertically as if a disaster had just happened (you must view the table “The cry” by Munch), as an 'A', then we pass the air through the nose, it's nasalization. It can be written:
o 'an' like mom
o 'am' as a room
o 'en' like wind
o 'em' as a set
o 'aon' as a peacock

• Noted / ɛ̃ / in API, this phoneme is realized by making a big smile, this time, we open our mouth horizontally, we imagine we pronounce an 'I', then we pass the air through the nose: we nasalize. It can be written:
o 'in' like morning
o 'im' as impossible
o 'yn' as synthesis
o 'ym' as a symbol
o 'ain' as a chestnut
o 'like' like hunger
o 'ein' as full
o '(i) en' like dog *

• Noted / õ / in api, this nasal vowel is pronounced by closing the mouth almost completely as if to pronounce a closed 'O', then the air is passed through the nose (always this famous nasalization). It can be written:
o 'on' as in balloon
o 'om' as in shadow

• Noted / œ̃ / in API, this phoneme is only pronounced in the south of France. To pronounce it, you have to imagine pronouncing an 'E' that you nasalize. In the rest of the country, words containing this nasal vowel are pronounced as a / ɛ̃ /. She writes:
o 'a' like brown
o 'um' as perfume
* The spelling 'en' is pronounced / ɛ̃ / only when there is an 'i' in front as a dog, politician, college student or an 'é' as European, Mediterranean, high school student.

Playing with sounds

After the theory, make way for the game! This is a question that should interest all people who aim to put these concepts into practice with fun activities. Here is a series of easy exercises to allow the assimilation of these concepts.

• First of all, it is necessary to distinguish the sounds from each other: this is hearing discrimination. We can therefore propose minimum pair dictations first. Minimum pairs are words that differ only by one sound. Focusing on short words allows a clear distinction of the sound studied. We can then proceed to a reading of the words which contain the same phoneme then minimal pairs.

• We can then propose very short texts that contain a lot of nasal vowels. It is then necessary to locate the nasal vowels by underlining the ã, framing the ɛ̃ surrounding the ɔ̃. We can finally read the text while being very attentive to the pronunciation of the nasal vowels.

Parler français implique nécessairement de pratiquer sa prononciation. Quoi de plus frustrant que de tenter de communiquer mais qu’en dépit de tous ses efforts et de son grand savoir lexical et grammatical, on ne parvienne à se faire comprendre ! Venez découvrir dans notre article les spécificités des voyelles nasales du français, phonèmes caractéristiques de la phonétique de notre belle langue pour pouvoir vous livrer à des conversations à bâtons rompus avec des natifs sans difficulté !

La particularité des voyelles nasales du français.

Peu connus des apprenants, ces fameux phonèmes ne trouvent pas toujours grâce à leurs yeux. Et pourtant ! Je raconte toujours cette anecdote qui prouve l’impact et l’importance qu’a la réalisation correcte de ces sons : un ami britannique m’a annoncé un beau jour qu’il avait un cancer. Face à mon choc et à ma tristesse, celui-ci m’assure que je peux me joindre à lui si je le souhaite, mais qu’il ne me l’avait pas proposé car il ne me pensait pas intéressée par le jazz. Aaah ! Un CONcert.

Les voyelles nasales : une définition par la discrimination contrastive

Voyelles nasales : quésaco ? Elles sont au nombre de quatre en français. Cependant, l’une d’entre elles ne se prononce plus que dans le sud de la France et maîtriser les trois plus courantes suffisent pour pouvoir produire des énoncés compréhensibles par tous les francophones.

• Noté /ã/ dans l’alphabet phonétique international (api), ce son se prononce en ouvrant grand la bouche à la verticale comme si une catastrophe venait de se passer (il faut visualiser le tableau “Le cri” de Munch), comme un ‘A’, puis l’on fait passer l’air par le nez, c’est la nasalisation. Il peut s’écrire :
o ‘an’ comme maman
o ‘am’ comme chambre
o ‘en’ comme vent
o ‘em’ comme ensemble
o ‘aon’ comme paon

• Noté /ɛ̃/ en api, ce phonème se réalise en faisant un grand sourire, cette fois-ci, on ouvre la bouche à l’horizontal, on s’imagine prononcer un ‘I’, puis on fait passer l’air par le nez : on nasalise. Il peut s’écrire :
o ‘in’ comme matin
o ‘im’ comme impossible
o ‘yn’ comme synthèse
o ‘ym’ comme symbole
o ‘ain’ comme châtain
o ‘aim’ comme faim
o ‘ein’ comme plein
o ‘(i)en’ comme chien*

• Noté /õ/ en api, cette voyelle nasale se prononce en fermant presque complètement la bouche comme pour prononcer un ‘O’ fermé, puis on fait passer l’air par le nez (toujours cette fameuse nasalisation). Elle peut s’écrire :
o ‘on’ comme dans ballon
o ‘om’ comme dans ombre

• Noté /œ̃/ en api, ce phonème n’est prononcé plus que dans le sud de la France. Pour le prononcé, il faut s’imaginer prononcer un ‘E’ que l’on nasalise. Dans le reste du pays, les mots qui contiennent cette voyelle nasale sont prononcés comme un /ɛ̃/. Elle s’écrit :
o ‘un’ comme brun
o ‘um’ comme parfum
* La graphie ‘en’ se prononce /ɛ̃/ uniquement quand il y a un ‘i’ devant comme chien, politicien, collégien ou un ‘é’ comme européen, méditerranéen, lycéen.

Jouer avec les sons

Après la théorie, place au jeu ! Voilà une question qui devrait intéresser toutes les personnes qui ont pour objectif de mettre en pratique ces concepts avec des activités ludiques. Voici une série d’exercices faciles pour permettre l’assimilation de ces notions.

• Tout d’abord, il est nécessaire de distinguer les sons les uns des autres : c’est la discrimination auditive. On peut donc proposer des dictées de paires minimales dans un premier temps. Les paires minimales sont des mots qui ne diffèrent que d’un seul son. Se concentrer sur des mots courts permet une distinction claire du son étudié. On peut ensuite procéder à une lecture des mots qui contiennent le même phonème puis des paires minimales.

• On peut ensuite proposer de très courts textes qui contiennent beaucoup de voyelles nasales. Il faut alors repérer les voyelles nasales en soulignant les ã, encadrant les ɛ̃ entourant les ɔ̃. On peut enfin passer à la lecture du texte en étant très attentif à la prononciation des voyelles nasales.